# Data Privacy

**URL:** <https://bisq.community/t/data-privacy/11372>\
**Category:** Uncategorized\
**Created:** [January 31, 2022, 6:51pm UTC](https://bisq.community/t/data-privacy/11372 "2022-01-31T18:51:24Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![tieck](https://bisq.community/letter_avatar/tieck/32/5_5575768a8748004e209b776fc1b2916d.png) [@tieck](https://bisq.community/u/tieck)\
**Post date:** [January 31, 2022, 6:51pm UTC](https://bisq.community/t/data-privacy/11372/1 "2022-01-31T18:51:24Z")

</div>

How will this new feature _Data Privacy_ described here [Draft:Data Privacy - Bisq Wiki](https://bisq.wiki/Draft:Data_Privacy) be activated for existing wallets? Will it be activated per default or do the users have to activated it themselves?

Twenty days seems to be short in my opinion and I would like to prevent the situation that my old trades will be cleared at the moment I start the new version containing this feature for the first time…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![bisqUser123](https://bisq.community/letter_avatar/bisquser123/32/5_5575768a8748004e209b776fc1b2916d.png) [@bisqUser123](https://bisq.community/u/bisqUser123)\
**Post date:** [February 2, 2022, 12:03am UTC](https://bisq.community/t/data-privacy/11372/2 "2022-02-02T00:03:26Z")

</div>

User activated & user configurable.

> <https://github.com/bisq-network/bisq/pull/6001>
>
> \- Removes sensitive payment account information and trader chat messages from cl…osed trades and disputes.
> \- User can specify in preferences how long to wait before the information is removed, defaults to 20 days.
> \- The feature is enabled after the user clicks \`I UNDERSTAND\` shown in the dialog below.
>  
> Closes #5396
> 
> \----
> 
> \### Screenshots:
> 
> !\[image\](https://user-images.githubusercontent.com/47253594/151685386-ea2a91ff-78a5-4017-a6cb-f27e7a184631.png)
> 
> \*\*Settings:\*\*
> 
> !\[image\](https://user-images.githubusercontent.com/47253594/151600997-f43557e5-c4b4-4d27-a6a8-7aa3fea3fbc6.png)
> 
> 
> 
> \*\*The highlighted payment account details get removed:\*\*
> 
> !\[image\](https://user-images.githubusercontent.com/47253594/151817648-cf8e6c43-1485-4050-b84c-239a67bd2ac9.png)
> 
> 
> 
> \*\*Trade contract showing payment account information removed.\*\*
> 
> !\[image\](https://user-images.githubusercontent.com/47253594/151499423-f16f3a28-3583-42d3-a5fe-e2c7c9fa72c5.png)
> 
> !\[image\](https://user-images.githubusercontent.com/47253594/151496741-4da6bacb-edbc-4e20-a9b3-fd6e728a5b36.png)
> 
> 
> \---
> 
> 
> \### Invocation:
> 
> The list of closed trades need to be occasionally evaluated to see if any are eligible for having their sensitive data cleared. This is primarily done at app initialization, but also is done periodically whenever a trade is added to the list shown in portfolio history. That is to handle the case of clients which do not restart daily.
> 
> Likewise, the list of dispute tickets is evaluated at initialization and also whenever a dispute ticket closed message is processed.
> 
> 
> Whenever the evaluation is done, the following log messages are written:
> 
> INFO b.c.t.ClosedTradableManager: checking closed trades eligibility for having sensitive data cleared 
> INFO b.c.s.dispute.DisputeManager: ArbitrationManager checking closed disputes eligibility for having sensitive data cleared 
> INFO b.c.s.dispute.DisputeManager: MediationManager checking closed disputes eligibility for having sensitive data cleared 
> INFO b.c.s.dispute.DisputeManager: RefundManager checking closed disputes eligibility for having sensitive data cleared
> 
> If any actions are taken, they are logged, for example:
> 
> INFO b.c.trade.model.bisq\_v1.Trade: cleared sensitive data from contract;contractAsJson; of trade rfvUYPIx 
> INFO b.core.support.dispute.Dispute: cleared sensitive data from chat messages; of dispute for trade IOAMZBWH
