Can't Log into Bisq

Hi. I’m new to Bisq and am running it on Windows 10. About a week ago, I had my account up and deposited some BTC. Today, I can’t get it to log in on Tor. I’m getting an error message of: java.lang.NullPointerException
I downloaded java runtime and tried again and still got the same error message.
Please help. Thanks!

Probably the easiest solution would be to move your data directory somewhere else and start Bisq from scratch.

Later you can just restore your wallet from seed words.

Meaning to put my data directory on a data stick, delete the data directory off the computer, log into Bisq as if for the first time, and then load my data directory into Bisq?

@btc_n_me
Your way of doing is ok.
But there is no need to delete the data directory. Just rename it.

The procedure is well described here:
https://bisq.community/t/how-to-switch-to-a-new-data-directory/6753

Thanks for your help. I’ve done a post similar to this in r/bisq. I’ve read Manfred Karrer’s article, “How to Switch to a New Data Directory.” No doubt, you guys are going to think I’m batty, but I feel a need to state the following:

Born extremely right-brained (artistic) and somewhat handicapped in left-brain functions (logic, math, and such), it would take me months of struggling to learn about things such as hidden service folders, multiple instances, and program arguments. People with natural abilities in left-brain activities will never understand how artistically-oriented people “can’t get it." Believe me, we can’t.

So … I’m sticking with Windows. If java is not needed to run Bisq, what I’m planning to do is to reset this new BTC-dedicated computer to factory-issue Windows, keep java off the computer, start a new Bisq account, and use my wallet seed to recover my wallet.

Any thoughts or help would be appreciated. Thanks!

@btc_n_me