Focus of Bisq

Recently I’ve been thinking of what should be the focus of the project, and while i’m a big crypto/fiat trader, experience has taught me that is a difficult path to follow.

I came across several altcoin projects/exchanges that claim they want to become decentralized (binance.com being the most prominent i believe).
It seems to me Bisq is in prime position to become the first largely used decentralized altcoin trading platform and that should be our focus. What do you think?

If you agree, what is preventing us from reaching the masses in that market? Are fees/deposits a problem here? I’m not experienced in altcoin trading so I never checked…
Is it hard for users to setup their own altcoin wallets? maybe…

Cheers

I think that the biggest problem of Bisq can be the uncertainty generated by the user’s situation of not knowing who to trade with, and if I can get in trouble if I send or receive money from a bank account of a delinquent. Now it is not a real problem, because we are very few, but could become so if the volume goes up a lot. Perhaps a merchant valuation system could help, that would attract anonymous sellers which would have their store here, as in Localbitcoins. I can not think of any good reason why Bisq can not phagocyte 100% of Localbitcoins’ trade.
Some non-banked means of payment may also help.

Where Bisq can develop his potential is in exchanging BTCs or ALTs for FIAT. In the BTC / ALTS exchange I think that the Bitshares DEX concept is more advanced, since it does not need to make the change between Wallets, with the corresponding fees, but the trading is done between smartcoins that have the guaranteed price with their real counterparts through the guarantee of margin operations left by speculators.

The advantage of Bisq in this case is the presence of a much larger number of ALTS and, above all, the change by FIAT.

1 Like