New EU regulation on "virtual currency" exchanges

Hi there. A pal from guifi.net pointed me to this article: [European] Commission strengthens transparency rules to tackle terrorism financing, tax avoidance and money laundering. It looks like the European Comission wants to review the Anti-Money Laundering Directive in a way that could affect altcoin exchanges (because they are a nest of damn terrorists, you know). This is the relevant passage:

Tackling terrorist financing risks linked to virtual currencies: to prevent misuse of virtual currencies for money laundering and terrorist financing purposes, the Commission proposes to bring virtual currency exchange platforms and custodian wallet providers under the scope of the Anti-Money Laundering Directive. These entities will have to apply customer due diligence controls when exchanging virtual for real currencies, ending the anonymity associated with such exchanges;

I’m not a lawyer but I’m not sure whether Bitsquare would fall under this point, since the fiat/altcoin exchange itself is done by other external means, and the Directive may affect these but not Bitsquare itself.

What do you think of this? May it be a risk for Bitsquare, or rather an opportunity?

All Regulation is an opportunity for Bitsquare! Bitsquare is a network without a legal entity so far. But many self imposed limitations. Anyway, its sad that one thinks that one needs a lawyer to understand law isn’t it ?!

“The Juncker Commission has made the fight against tax avoidance, money laundering and terrorism financing one of its priorities.”

Funny, when you read a bit in Wikipedia about Juncker it turns out he took a major role making Luxembourg a tax haven for companies. He was also responsible that Luxembourgs secret services where operating completely out of control and without transparency (but thats only in the german wiki…). So I am sure he is the man Europe needs :-).

But anyway, usual politics stuff…