Setting up new account

Hi, i try to set up new Monero account and I’m asked to enter the address:

I supposed that bitsquare should generate the new address for me. Which address then I supposed to put here?

Nice thought for another improvement but for now one needs to download monero software at http://monero.org/ and create your own ‘MyWallet’ via the simplewallet prog.

so i need to create new wallet in monero wallet and then put this new address into bitsquare, right?

Right.

2 Likes

Please note that the official website of the Monero Project is http://getmonero.org, not “monero.org,” which is owned by unknown persons with no affiliation to the Monero development team.

4 Likes

Hi,
I am new to Monero, didn’t know that setting up a wallet and receiving XMR will be more involving than DASH for example and I am learning on the fly. However, now I have to confirm a XMR payment from a seller on Bitsquare and I need a bit of help from someone more experienced, I got 14hours left :slight_smile:

So far, I downloaded the simplewallet and both the daemon and the client are the latest version.
I opened the client, set a wallet and generated an address. Unfortunately, I didn’t know that I have to run the daemon beforehand, hence, about the time consuming synchronization routine too. Thus, I have used the generated XMR address for the Bitsquare buying operation. Thus, I started waiting for the coins to be received by repeating the refresh and the balance command until I realized that there is something wrong.
Then, I paid attention on a message that says, “… make sure you have started the daemon …”! So I started the daemon and realized that the simplewallet is not that simple.

So the current situation is, I got Synced 57000/1269875 for 1h:10min of running. So I will need 20 hours with the same speed in order to reach 1269875 but until then the Bitsquare operation will be timed out.