So few users on Bisq

Hi all,

I’m new to Bisq and I love the idea of a decentralized exchange! Thank you to whoever created this awesome application/tool!

I’ve been wanting to buy some btc on Bisq but haven’t seen any sellers in the past couple days when I connect to the network. All I see is buyers…, and only 4 peers total.

Is there a specific time of the day that the network would have more people connect?

Thanks.

There aren’t many users at the moment, that is true. You can always invite your friends that are interested in cryptocurrencies to join it :slight_smile:

You can place an offer to buy Bitcoins and keep your client running until someone takes it. There might be some users that are just waiting for a good offer :smiley: but it is more likely that the lack of btc sellers is for the same reason the Bitcoin price increased recently (the price rises when there is no one willing to sell for a current price).

I wonder if you could increase the liquidity by offering bisq services like FIAT gateway for some exchange, through an API. People could buy BTC in bisq and the BTC could be transferred to another exchange.

It could be very interesting for many exchanges that in this way would no longer need to obtain licenses to work with FIAT.

I am not clear whether this would be good or bad or would generate positive synergies for all parties. What is your opinion?

I believe Bisq was originally built for peer to peer trading. Having big professional exchanges could possibly decrease the privacy of the users. However it is not forbidden in any way in the protocol for big exchanges to use Bisq, as long as they follow rules of the protocol.