Tried withdrawing BTC from bitsquare wallet

I wanted to move some bitcoin from my bitsquare wallet to a different wallet. I am still quite new to bitcoin and there are some things that I don’t understand.

First, I went to the settings and set the “Withdrawal transaction fee (satoshi/byte)” to 240 (I understand this is whats recommended). Then I went to the “Available for withdrawal” tab in “Funds”.

The first thing I noticed is that my funds are divided by address (I assume this is the address that received each transaction). This is the first time I have seen this on a crypto wallet and is kinda confusing, so if anyone can explain that I would appreciate this (but this is not yet the main question).

I selected an address and lowered the amount of BTC to send to 0.005 in order to test this transfer of funds. I then added the address of the wallet that was to receive the btc and clicked “Withdraw selected”. The popup appeared with the summary and here is where my question is. Where is says “Required transaction fee is” it says “0.0024 BTC (1066.67 satoshis/byte)”.

Is this a bug? Or have a not yet fully understood how transaction fees are calculated???

Hi,

the reason why there are several addresses is to give people more control about their privacy.
If you combine several inputs (from addresses) you are connecting those and it can be assumed that the addresses are owned by the same person.
This is called coin merge and is one issue that most people lose easily their privacy when dealing with Bitcoin. Bitcoin Core has a similar feature called coin control where you can select from which previous transactions you want to use the funds.

Regarding the tx fee:
Yes that is kind of a bug or improper implementation. It is fixed for the next version where the fee calculation is done correctly and also support fee estimation services.
The value is kind of right when the transaction size is 1 KB, but for smaller sizes it does not handle that properly.