Upgrading to 1.1.0 .deb

Hello,

I just downloaded bisq a few days ago to check it out. Now I see the update is out, but my question is since I am on Ubuntu, what is the proper way to update?

I know i have to manually update it since it is not in the repo’s. But since I have an old version, do I have to uninstall this version first? Or is there a way to do it all in one go?

Which Bisq version do you actually have ?

Normally, the appli informs you that there is an update and proposes to download it.
Is this not the case ?

No, this is the case. I had the previous version - 1.0.1, and I have downloaded from the prompt, version 1.1.0

I use gdebi to install .deb packages.

I don’t want to install the new package, and cause any type of conflict between the 2 packages, hence me asking the proper way to do this. I’m still relatively new to linux, and want to do things the correct way

I’m under Debian.
What I do is:

• make the necessary backups
  • in console mode, as superuser: go where the *.deb file is
    dpkg -i thefile.deb
    , and you’re done

By console you are referring to the terminal yes?

Can you tell me what this command does? So I can understand what is happening here.

I’m in ubuntu 18.04, I usually use apt to manage packages, and when I have to install a .deb file I usually use the GUI - gdebi. Is gdebi basically a GUI for dpkg?

Will this command overwrite the previous version, and remove all un needed packages? Or will I have to go in and apt remove --purge bisq-1.0.1 && apt autoremove && apt autoclean ?

Yes. By console, i meant terminal.

afaik, Bisq is not on the official Debian repos. So you cannot use apt.

I don’t know gdebi.

dpkg has always worked properly for me.
It overwrites over the previous version, so nothing to remove/clean.

Little bit of searching on the Internet got me informed that gdebi is a GUI for dpkg with added functionality to check for dependencies.